Alumna and M.F.A. Candidate Receive AATE Awards

Alumna and M.F.A. Candidate Receive AATE Awards

Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Bill Rios headshot

M.F.A. in Design and Technology candidate Bill Rios and alumna Ally Tufenkjian (M.F.A. 2019) have been selected for two separate awards from the American Alliance for Theatre and Education (AATE). This organization celebrates and encourages the work of theatre artists and educators through initiatives including workshops, awards and an annual conferences. Both Rios and Tufenkjian have been recognized for excellence in theatre for young audiences, earning them invitations to this year's AATE conference in July where they will be recognized for their achievements and have the opportunity to share elements of their research and design.

smiling woman in a hat

Bill Rios, a lighting designer, has been awarded this year's Don and Elizabeth Doyle Fellowship in affiliation with AATE for demonstrated artistic ability in the area of youth theatre. As head of Drama and Theatre for Youth and Communities area at the Department of Theatre and Dance, Megan Alrutz shared that his "commitment to creating aesthetically beautiful, dynamic and responsive lighting for young audiences is apparent across his body of work," a trait that garnered him recognition with this national award. 

Tufenkjian received this year's Distinguished Thesis Award for her work entitled Reciprocity and Transformative Learning: Arts-based Professional Learning with Students and Teachers, an honor given to one submission from a national pool of applicants that exhibits detailed and pertinent research surrounding topics in theatre for and by youth. She will have the opportunity to share her research, which was conducted under the supervision of faculty member Katie Dawson, at this year's virtual AATE Conference. 

The American Alliance for Theatre and Education awards will be recognized as part of this year's conference July 23 - August 2, 2020. 

Back to top