UTNT (UT New Theatre)

man sitting in shadow with white suspenders

The University of Texas at Austin Department of Theatre and Dance presents UTNT (UT New Theatre). UTNT is an annual showcase of new plays from third-year playwrights in the M.F.A. Playwriting Program.

The Department of Theatre and Dance and Michener Center for Writers have been heralded nationally as incubators for new work (American Theatre). Notable alumni of these programs include Lisa D’ Amour (2011 Pulitzer Prize Finalist, Detroit), Frances Ya-Chu Cowhig (2011 Wasserstein Award Recipient, The World of Extreme Happiness), George Brant (2008 Keene Prize for Literature, Elephant’s Graveyard) and Kirk Lynn (2011 USA Fellow in Theatre Arts). UTNT curator and Department of Theatre and Dance Professor Steven Dietz shares, “Tomorrow's plays are at UTNT today. UTNT is known as the launching pad to award-winning and widely produced new work for the American stage.”

The 2017 UTNT (UT New Theatre) plays under consideration include:

Gondal by Kimberly Belflower

Slumber Party by Elizabeth Doss

The Bigot by G.W. Spencer

Galactic Orphans by Megan Tabaque

Curated by Liz Engelman and Steven Dietz

Titles, artists, venue and dates are subject to change. 


The Silent Woman by Lydia Blaisdell
The Orange Garden by Joanna Garner
381 Bleecker by Gia Marotta
Girls in Cars Underwater by Tegan McLeod


Karlstad by Patrick Shaw
Hold Me Well by Eva Suter
Good Day by Diana Lynn Small
Lyla School by Brian Kettler


Annie Jump and the Library of Heaven by Reina Hardy
Advance Man by Abe Koogler
'ratio Visual Narrative by William Anderson and Text Narrative by David Turkel
Still Now by Katie Bender
Or, "The One with the Dogs" by Briandaniel Oglesby


Dream of Perfect Sleep by Kevin Kautzman
70 Secrets of Marmalade Kittens by Gabrielle Reisman
The Kingdom by Andrew Hinderaker
A Perfect Robot by Sarah Saltwick


Bacha Bazi (Boy Play) by Gabriel Jason Dean
The Chronicles of Bad Ass Women by Holli Gipson
River City by Diana Grisanti
Static by Tom Horan


Yours by Meghan Kennedy
Rivers of January by Ben Snyder


White Tie Ball by Martin Zimmerman
Blue Point by Kyle John Schmidt
The Tides of Aberdeen by Erin Phillips 


Lidless by Frances Ya-Chu Cowhig
Portrait by Jenny Connell


The Chev by Robert Sanchez
Split by Erica Saleh
Why Koreans Don't Hug by Soo-Jin Lee