Cohen New Works Festival 2009

Presented by the University Co-op

March 30 – April 4, 2009
Sites in and around the Winship Drama Building

Through the generous support of the University Co-op, all events are free and open to the public.

The Cohen New Works Festival presented by the University Co-op is a biennial festival organized by the Department of Theatre and Dance that celebrates original works created by UT students, faculty, and guest artists. It is not just an event, but a celebration of a continuously ongoing process — the creation of new work.

Inaugurated in 2001 as a new play festival, the Cohen New Works Festival was created and named in honor of David Mark Cohen, former head of playwriting within The University of Texas at Austin Department of Theatre and Dance. Cohen was killed in a car crash on December 23, 1997, but during his life, he was an adamant supporter of new work. Today, the Cohen New Works Festival has evolved to include not just plays, but all mediums of student-generated new work. It is the largest festival of its kind, being run and organized entirely by a committee of graduate and undergraduate students, with the support of faculty co-producers.

In just six days, the 2009 Festival highlights 31 news works, including 15 new plays, 6 new dance works, 3 art installations, over 10 commissioned pieces of music and a host of trans-disciplinary events including multiple exhibitions at the Blanton Museum of Art and three outdoor site-specific works.

Resources, Press and Reviews:

Festival Roster (PDF)

• 11/7/08 – 2009 Festival Roster Announced! (PDF)

• 3/4/09 - Festival Brings New Art and Established Talent to Austin (PDF)

• 3/26/09 – Austin Chronicle “Research and Development: Back in the performance laboratory of the David Mark Cohen New Works Festival”

• 4/10/09 – Austin Chronicle “David Mark Cohen New Works Festival: Relishing that monster buzz”

download Acrobat Reader

Faculty Co-Producers: Denise Martel, Suzan Zeder, and David Justin

The Cohen New Works Festival Executive Committee and Student Creative Team (2009):

Jermaine Affonso, Wendy A. Bable, Lindsey Bailey, Andrea Beckham, Hailey Chaney, Jenny Connell, Rusty Cloyes, Michelle Dahlenburg, Nora Davidson, Kathryn Flowers, Lindsay Genshaft, Robby Gonzales, Megan Griffith, Jennifer Hartmann, Kelsey Hayenga, David Justin, Halena Kays, Matrex Kilgore, Nora King, Joey LePage, Darren Levin, Amber Loftis, Denise Martel, Derek Martinez, Talleri McRae, Yonatan Mendelsberg, Eugenia Montoya, Charissa Mureen, Nichole Palmietto, Alyssa Parker, Chelsea Roach, Denise Saenz, Matthew Satterfield, Kyle Schmidt, Andrew Segovia, Beth Sitorius, Michele Sleighel, Lissa Storey, Kristin Turner, Sarah White, Cody Williams, Martin Zimmerman, Suzan Zeder

Please visit the Festival website for more information.