Cassie Gholston, Director of Marketing,
(512) 232-5301

Dance Professor Receives Fulbright Specialists Award

Lyn C. Wiltshire, professor of dance at The University of Texas at Austin Department of Theatre and Dance, has been selected for a Fulbright Specialists project in Mexico at Escuela de Professional de Danza de Mazatlan (EPDM), the official school of the Instituto Municipal de Cultura Turismo y Arte de Mazatlan, directed by the professional dance company, Delfos Danza Contemporanea.

This month, Wiltshire is promoting a cultural understanding through dance by developing joint curricula and restructuring of key courses to link the B.F.A. in Dance in EPDM and the B.F.A. in Dance in the UT Department of Theatre and Dance.

Wiltshire is one of over 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. Her accomplished career has included performing and touring with many notable directors and dance companies, including the Dance Theatre of Harlem and the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater. Wiltshire’s award-winning choreography has been commissioned by companies across the United States and presented to Canadian, European and Middle Eastern audiences.

The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields. 

Wednesday, December 5, 2012