Cohen New Works Festival 2007

Presented by the University Co-op

April 9 – April 15, 2007
Sites in and around the Winship Drama Building

Through the generous support of the University Co-op, all events are free and open to the public.

The Cohen New Works Festival presented by the University Co-op is a biennial festival organized by the Department of Theatre and Dance that celebrates original works created by UT students, faculty, and guest artists. It is not just an event, but a celebration of a continuously ongoing process — the creation of new work.

Inaugurated in 2001 as a new play festival, the Cohen New Works Festival was created and named in honor of David Mark Cohen, former head of playwriting within The University of Texas at Austin Department of Theatre and Dance. Cohen was killed in a car crash on December 23, 1997, but during his life, he was an adamant supporter of new work. Today, the Cohen New Works Festival has evolved to include not just plays, but all mediums of student-generated new work. It is the largest festival of its kind, being run and organized entirely by a committee of graduate and undergraduate students, with the support of faculty co-producers.

Resources, Press and Reviews:

Festival Roster

Austinist: Dance, Music, Theatre, and Art Converge at the Cohen New Works Festival (4/6/07)

Austin Chronicle: The Laboratory of Playmaking (4/5/07)

download Acrobat Reader

Faculty Co-Producers: Denise Martel, Suzan Zeder, and David Justin

The Cohen New Works Festival Executive Committee and Student Creative Team (2007):

Angie Ahlgren, Corey Atkins, Wendy Bable, Andrea Beckham, Yvonne Boudreaux, George Brant, Chase Brindgartner, Meg Brooker, Stephanie Brown, Scott Bussey, Pamela Christian, Alex Cogburn, Greg Cornelius, Rusty Cloyes, Jenny Connell, Anastasia Coon, Douglas Dempster, Ashley DePalermo, Rachel Durkin-Drga, Denise Forbes-Erickson, Kristen Frankiewicz, Yesenia Garcia, April Gentry-Sutterfield, Stephen Gerald, Nicole Del Giudice, Charlotte Griffin, Lori Grubbs, Michelle Habeck, Katy Hallee, Alison Hart, Kelly Howe, Natasha Jarvis, David Justin, Sydney Katz, Jenny Keto, Heather Koslov, Sarah Lankenau, Diego Larrea, Kristin Leahey, Soo-Jin Lee, Larry Lehew, Amber Loftis, Maddie Lynch, Shelley Manis, Denise Martel, Brandi Matthews-James, Jan McCauley, Beth McDonald, Anne Marie McKaskle, Yonatan Mendelsberg, Susan Mickey, David Modigliani, Derek Moon, Colum Morgan, Sarah Myers, Julie Nathanielsz, Candida Nichols, Kim Ngo, Eleanor Owicki, Nichole Palmietto, Deborah Paredez, Daymon Passmore, Ryan Pavelchik, Sara Rinner, Janna Rock, Chris Rusch, Erica Saleh, Robert Sanchez, Sarah Schultz, Tanya Schurr, Fadi Skreiker, Meg Sullivan, Spencer Sutterfield, Joan Thibodeau, Susan Todd, Eve Tulbert, Sally Vander Gheynst, Eric Vera, Stacy Wolf, Alex Wood, Leanne Zacharias, Suzan Zeder

Please visit the Festival website for more information.