Cassie Gholston, Director of Marketing,
(512) 232-5301

National Accolades for UT Theatre Educators and Scholars

Department of Theatre and Dance faculty, students and alumni were honored at American Alliance for Theatre and Education’s (AATE) annual conference in Denver, Colorado. Founded in 1936, AATE is among the most recognized arts education organizations. AATE connects and inspires a growing collective of theatre artists, educators, and scholars committed to transforming young people and communities through the theatre arts. Through its membership, AATE serves more than one million students across the globe. The 2014 award winners include:


Woman in red patterned shirt
Professor Megan Alrutz

Dr. Megan Alrutz, recipient of the Lin Wright Special Recognition Award, honoring her distinctive educational contribution and meritorious service furthering theatre and drama for young people.


Professor Roxanne Schroeder-Arce, recipient of the Ann Flagg Multicultural Award, honoring her significant contributions to the field of drama and theatre for youth dealing with multicultural issues and reaching diverse audiences and constituencies.


Professor Steven Dietz, recognized for his play Jackie & Me. This widely-produced play is an adaptation of a Dan Gutman's children's story.


Woman with long hair, wearing a scarfMeredyth Peterson

Meredyth Pederson (M.F.A. candidate) has been selected as the Winifred Ward Scholar, a research award that celebrates a graduate-level scholar for their intellectual and artistic ability in drama and theatre for youth.




Learn more about our Drama and Theatre for Youth and Communities program, our faculty and students.

Friday, August 8, 2014