Cassie Gholston, Director of Marketing,
(512) 232-5301

B. Iden Payne Awards Announced and Celebrated

The B. Iden Payne Council, a volunteer organization sponsored by the Austin Creative Alliance, and the general public cast their votes for 2012-2013's outstanding production elements in Austin. The Department of Theatre and Dance, its students, faculty, alumni, and friends were nominated for many awards in a broad range of categories. The winners were announced at the B. Iden Payne Awards Ceremony on November 5th, many of which are Theatre and Dance affiliates. Congrats to all! 

Performances listed below are produced by The University of Texas at Austin Department of Theatre and Dance unless otherwise noted. 

2012-2013 B. Iden Payne Award Winners



Outstanding Direction

Judy Matetzschk-Campbell (MFA '91, PhD '96, Department of Theatre and Dance Lecturer), Playground Superhero, Pollyanna Theatre Company


Outstanding Direction 

Rudy Ramirez (PhD  student), Sing Muse, VORTEX Repertory Company


Outstanding Production

Qualities of Starlight, VORTEX Repertory Company
By Gabriel Jason Dean (MFA '12)
Directed by Rudy Ramirez (PhD student)

Outstanding Direction

Rudy Ramirez (PhD student), Qualities of Starlight, VORTEX Repertory Company


Outstanding Costume Design

Carl Booker (MFA '11), Little Shop of Horrors, Zilker Theatre Productions

Outstanding Lighting Design

Jason Amato (attended), WATER, VORTEX Repertory Company

Outstanding Dance Choreography

Toni Bravo (MA '87), EARTH, VORTEX Repertory Company

Outstanding Original Script

Gabriel Jason Dean (MFA '12), Qualities of Starlight, VORTEX Repertory Company

Outstanding Original Score

Chelsea Manasseri, Rudy Ramirez (PhD student), Melissa Vogt-Patterson, Michelle Alexander, Hayley Armstrong, Jennifer Coy, and Kyle Zamcheck, Sing Muse, VORTEX Repertory Company

Outstanding Cast Performance

Sing Muse, cast members include Karen Rodriguez (BA '13) and Nickclette Izuegbu (MFA '13), VORTEX Repertory Company

Special Certificates

Community Outreach and Accessibility in The Edge of Peace, UT Department of Theatre and Dance 

To view the complete list of winners, visit the B. Iden Payne Council website

Email Cassie Gholston,, to make any additions. 

Wednesday, November 6, 2013