Cassie Gholston, Director of Marketing,
(512) 232-5301

B. Iden Payne Award Nominations Announced

Every year, the B. Iden Payne Council, a volunteer organization sponsored by the Austin Creative Alliance, is tasked with viewing and nominating outstanding production elements in Austin. This year, the Department of Theatre and Dance, its students, faculty, alumni, and friends were nominated for many awards in a broad range of categories. Congratulations! 

The B. Iden Payne Awards will be announced on November 5th at Stateside at the Paramount. Attendees of the B. Iden Payne Awards Ceremony are also eligible to vote. 

Performances listed below are produced by The University of Texas at Austin Department of Theatre and Dance unless otherwise noted. 

Nominations for Awards

2012-2013 Season


Outstanding Production

The Edge of Peace, UT Department of Theatre and Dance
By Suzan Zeder
Directed by Linda Hartzell

The Little Mermaid, ZACH Theatre for Youth
Written and directed by Nat Miller (MFA '08)

Mariachi Girl, ZACH Theatre for Youth, Teatro Vivo, and UT Department of Theatre and Dance
By Roxanne Schroeder-Arce (Department of Theatre and Dance Professor)
Directed by Brant Pope (Chair of the Department of Theatre and Dance)

Outstanding Direction

Linda Hartzell, The Edge of Peace

Judy Matetzschk-Campbell (MFA '91, PhD '96, Department of Theatre and Dance Lecturer), Playground Superhero, Pollyanna Theatre Company

Nat Miller (MFA '08), The Little Mermaid, ZACH Theatre for Youth

Brant Pope (Chair of the Department of Theatre and Dance), Mariachi Girl

Outstanding Performer

Frachelle Stewart Dorn, "Nell Hicks," (Department of Theatre and Dance Professor), The Edge of Peace

Aisha San Roman, "Cita," (Student), Mariachi Girl


Outstanding Production 

Passing Strange, Half and Half Productions 

Ragtime: The Musical, ZACH Theatre, cast including Nickclette Izuegbu (MFA '13), Dan Lendzian (MFA '13), Amanda Salazar (MFA '13), and John Smiley (MFA '13)


Outstanding Production

Qualities of Starlight, VORTEX Repertory Company
By Gabriel Jason Dean (MFA '12)
Directed by Rudy Ramirez (PhD student)

Outstanding Direction

Rudy Ramirez (PhD student), Qualities of Starlight, VORTEX Repertory Company

Ben Schave (BA '08), The Complete Works of Willaim Shakespeare (Abridged), Paradox Players

Outstanding Lead Actor

Jason Liebrecht (BFA '96), "Padraic," The Lieutenant of Inishmore, Capital T Theatre Company


Oustanding Featured Actress

Katie Bender (MFA candidate), "Dinah," The Cataract

Outstanding Direction

Steve Moore (MFA '05) and Zeb L. West, Adam Sultan, Physical Plant Theatre

Outstanding Featured Actress

Kim Adams (BA '09), "Emma," Circus Girl, The Hat Tree Theatricals

Amanda Salazar (MFA '12), "Mayme," Intimate Apparel


Outstanding Lighting Design

Rachel Atkinson (MFA '13), The Edge of Peace

Michelle Habeck (Department of Theatre and Dance Faculty), 33 Variations at ZACH Theatre

Outstanding Costume Design

Chin-Hua Yeh (MFA student), Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Dance Choreography

Toni Bravo (MA '87), EARTH, VORTEX Repertory Company

Outstanding Original Script

Gabriel Jason Dean (MFA '12), Qualities of Starlight, VORTEX Repertory Company

Nat Miller (MFA '08), The Little Mermaid, ZACH Theatre

Steve Moore (MFA '05) Agnes and Alfred, Physical Plant Theatre

Suzan Zeder (Professor Emeritus), The Edge of Peace

Outstanding Original Score

Chelse Manasseri, Rudy Ramirez (PhD student), Melissa Vogt-Patterson, Michelle Alexander, Hayley Armstrong, Jennifer Coy, and Kyle Zacheck, Sing Muse, VORTEX Repertory Company

Outstanding Media Design

Kate Leahy (MFA '12), The Little Mermaid, ZACH Theatre

Outstanding Cast Performance

Sing Muse, cast members include Karen Rodriguez (BA '13) and Nickclette Izuegbu (MFA '13), VORTEX Repertory Company

Oustanding Ensemble Performance

Robert Schleifer and Dan Lendzian (MFA '13), The Edge of Peace

Special Certificates

Community Outreach and Accessibility in The Edge of Peace, UT Department of Theatre and Dance 

To view the complete list of nominations, visit the B. Iden Payne Council website

Wednesday, October 9, 2013