Cassie Gholston, Director of Marketing,
(512) 232-5301

2009 Austin Critics Table Awards Announced

The Austin Critics Table has chosen their favorites for the year in Theatre, Design, Dance, Visual Art and Classical Music. Among the top picks are UT Theatre and Dance students and alumni for their outstanding achievements in the fields of direction, performance, design and choreography.

The 2009 awards were presented at an informal ceremony on Monday, June 1 at Cap City Comedy Club.

Awards by category:


Michelle Polgar, Cyrano de Bergerac
M.A. in Drama '93

Dustin Wills, Ophelia
B.A. in Theatre and Dance '06

Acting in a Leading Role
Tom Truss, The Idiot
M.F.A. in Acting candidate

Acting in a Supporting Role
Verity Branco, A Midsummer Night's Dream/An Ideal Husband
M.F.A. in Acting candidate

Marc Pouhé, The Three Sisters/Cyrano de Bergerac/The Grapes of Wrath
M.F.A. in Acting candidate

Ensemble Performance
The Red Balloon, Tongue and Groove Theatre
Director: David Yeakle; M.F.A. in Theatre '95

Jennifer Sherburn/David Yeakle, The Red Balloon
David Yeakle; M.F.A. in Theatre '95

W.H. "Deacon" Crain Award for Outstanding Student Work
Mark Scheibmeir
M.F.A. in Acting candidate


Scenic Design
Kevin Beltz, Still Life With Iris
M.F.A. in Theatrical Design candidate

Costume Design
Ariana Schwartz, Still Life With Iris
M.F.A. in Theatrical Design candidate

Lighting Design
Lih-Hwa Yu, The Shape of White
M.F.A. in Theatrical Design candidate

View the full list of winners in the Austin 360 blog, “Austin Critics' Table Award Winners 2008–2009.”

Thursday, June 4, 2009